Standard: FAA - 14 CFR PART 5


This standard is available with a subscription to IHS Standards Expert.

About IHS Standards Expert

IHS Standards Expert subscription, simplifies and expedites the process for finding and managing standards by giving you access to standards from over 370 standards developing organizations (SDOs).

  • Maximize product development and R&D with direct access to over 1.6 million standards
  • Discover new markets: Identify unmet needs and discover next-generation technologies
  • Improve quality by leveraging consistent standards to meet customer and market requirements
  • Minimize risk: Mitigate liability and better understand compliance regulations
  • Boost efficiency: Speed up research, capture and reuse expertise
For additional product information, visit the IHS Standards Expert page.

For more information or a custom quote, visit the IHS Contact Us page for regional contact information.


(a) A certificate holder under part 119 of this chapter authorized to conduct operations in accordance with the requirements of part 121 of this chapter must have a Safety Management System that meets the requirements of this part and is acceptable to the Administrator by March 9, 2018.

(b) A certificate holder must submit an implementation plan to the FAA Administrator for review no later than September 9, 2015. The implementation plan must be approved no later than March 9, 2016.

(c) The implementation plan may include any of the certificate holder’s existing programs, policies, or procedures that it intends to use to meet the requirements of this part, including components of an existing SMS.


Organization: Federal Aviation Administration
Document Number: 14 cfr part 5
Publish Date: 2016-01-01
Page Count: 5
Change Type: STCH
Available Languages: EN
DOD Adopted: NO
ANSI Approved: NO
Most Recent Revision: NO
Current Version: NO
Status: Inactive

Document History

Document # Change Type Update Date Revision Status
14 CFR PART 5 Change Type: COMPLETE REVISION Update Date: 2017-01-01 Status: ACTV

Standards That Reference This Standard

Showing 10 of 10.